Marietta Borough Council Minutes of Reorganization Meeting held January 2. 2024 113 East Market Street, Marietta, PA

The reorganizational meeting of the Marietta Borough Council convened at 7:00 PM, Tuesday, January 2, 2024 in the Marietta Borough Council Chambers, 113 East Market Street, Marietta, PA 17547. In attendance were Council members Hudson, DeBottis, Mayor Carroll-Baltozer. Absent was Council member Lauver

May Carroll-Baltozer called the meeting to order.

Mayor Carroll-Baltozer swore in the new Council members, Dan Robbins, Judith Kennedy, and Freddy States.

Council members took their seats. Mayor Carroll-Baltozer asked for nominations for Council President. Vice President Hudson nominated Freddy States as President. Vice President Hudson stated that President States has done a wonderful job serving as President in the past and believes he will do great things for the borough. Nominations were closed and by acclamation Freddy States is named President of Council.

President States took over the meeting and asked for nominations for Council Vice-President. Council member DeBottis nominated Jeffrey Hudson as Vice-President. Council member DeBottis stated that Vice President Hudson has been a vital part of Council and this organization. No other nominations. Nomination carries by unanimous vote that Jeffrey Hudson is named Vice-President.

President States asked for nominations for President Pro-tem. Council member Robbins nominated Steve DeBottis as President Pro-tem. No other nomination carries by unanimous vote that Steve DeBottis is named President Pro-tem.

President States stated that he met with the new Council members to discuss where they would fit best in the committees. President States went through the list of the new committees and if anyone would like to make any changes, we can do that for next months meeting. We have a vacant position to fill by next month. President States assigned the committee chairs: Administrative Committee, President States, Public Works Committee, Dan Robbins, Public Health & Safety Committee, Miles Lauver, Zoning/Planning/Environmental Committee, Judith Kennedy, Public Outreach Committee, Jeffrey Hudson.

President States asked if Council member Robbins would like to serve on the Marietta-Donegal Joint Sewer Authority. Council member Robbins agreed to serve on the committee.

President states assigned the Flood Control Committee as Freddy States and James Sargen.

President states assigned the Shade Tree Commission Committee as Judith Kennedy, Linda Ross, Cheryl Corson and Rita Hovemyr.

President States assigned the Land Bank Committee as Judith Kennedy and Julie Hall.

President States assigned the UCC Committee as Nate Stichler and Julie Hall, alternate.

President States will serve as Alternate to the Police Commission.

President States asked for a motion for Resolution 01-2024. Vice President Huson made the motion to adopt Resolution 01-2024 Disposition of records, with a second by Council member DeBottis. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

Council member DeBottis made a motion to adopt Resolution 02-2024 to appoint Rick Thomas as the Vacancy Board chair for the Borough with a second by Council member Robbins. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

Vice President Hudson made a motion to adopt Resolution 03-2024 to name Brandon Harter with Lancaster Tech Law as Borough solicitor with a second by Council member DeBottis. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

Council member DeBottis made a motion to adopt Resolution 04-2024 to appoint White, Rudy as Borough auditor with a second by Council member Robbins. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

Council member DeBottis made a motion to adopt Resolution 05-2024 to appoint Nancy Kulman to the Housing Hearing Board with a second by Vice President Hudson. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

Vice President Hudson made a motion to adopt Resolution 06-2024 to appoint Ron Kistler as the Borough Zoning Officer/Deputy Code Enforcement Officer with a second by Council member Kennedy. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

Council member DeBottis made a motion to adopt Resolution 07-2024 to appoint Commonwealth Code Inspection Services as the Borough code official with a second by Council member Robbins. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

Council member DeBottis made a motion to adopt Resolution 08-2024 to appoint Gavin Freeman with ARRO Consulting as the Borough engineer with a second by Council member Robbins. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

Vice President Hudson made a motion to adopt Resolution 09-2024 to appoint William McMullen with ARRO Consulting as the Borough Sewage Enforcement Officer with a second by Council member DeBottis. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

Council member Robbins made a motion to adopt Resolution 10-2024 to appoint Susquehanna Regional Police to service as the Borough Code Enforcement Officer with a second by Council member DeBottis. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

Council member DeBottis made a motion to adopt Resolution 11-2024 to appoint Susquehanna Regional Police as the Animal Enforcement Officer for the Borough with a second by Vice President Hudson. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

Council member DeBottis made a motion to adopt Resolution 12-2024 to appoint Ken Gall to the Planning Commission with a second by Vice President Hudson. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

Council member Kennedy made a motion to adopt Resolution 13-2024 to appoint Linda Ross to the Planning Commission with a second by Vice President Hudson. Motion carries unanimously by

voice vote.

Council member DeBottis made a motion to adopt Resolution 14-2024 to appoint Jody Shaffner as the Housing Officer with a second by Council member Robbins. Motion carries unanimously by voice vote.

There being no further business to come before Council, on a motion by Vice President Hudson with a second by Council member Robbins the meeting adjourned at 7:21 PM.

BOROUGH SEAL

Respectfully submitted,

Julie A. Hall Secretary/Treasurer